Guest blog post: The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Ansel Adams

Disability Visibility Project

Guest blog post: The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Ansel Adams

By Tammy Ruggles

I had a secret dream that I barely acknowledged to myself, let alone tell the world: I wanted to be a fine art photographer.

Not such a far-fetched dream for someone who loved the arts, and especially the striking black and white landscapes of my photography hero, Ansel Adams. Growing up in rural Kentucky, I was surrounded by beautiful landscapes.

But it was far-fetched because I was born with RP, or Retinitis Pigmentosa, a blinding disease that steals your vision over time by destroying the retinas. My first pair of glasses came at the age of 2, I had night blindness, which is associated with RP, and it was impossible to read settings on a camera to shoot manually, so traditional photography and photography courses were out, accepting the fact that I would have to…

View original post 947 more words

Leave a Reply

